Funds and Grants
Scholarship Applications and Information

The Greene County Foundation is pleased to provide a number of scholarships to area students for the continuation of their education.  We believe our young adults are the most valuable resource we have.  We want to encourage our young adults to expand their horizons and build their skills,  however we also want to encourage  them to return and give back to this community.   A wealth of job opportunities are being created in the area  which can provide opportunities and wages equivalent to other larger areas.   For job opportunities visit and search for positions using your zip code.

Important Information:  Most scholarships provide for educational expenses only, primarily tuition and books.  Once a scholarship is awarded receipts will be required before payment is made.  All payments are made directly to the institution.  Students upon receiving announcement of their award will be asked to provide the Foundation with written documentation of their acceptance of the scholarship,  failure to do  so may cause the scholarship to be awarded to someone else.  Students receiving  more than one scholarship or other forms of  financial aid are required to inform the financial aid office of their institution of all financial awards received.  Failure to do so can jeopardize further financial aid.

For questions about scholarships and your taxes,  please see

Several other scholarships are held by the Greene County Foundation, however the selection is done independent of the Foundation.   For more information about the:

Eastern School Advancement of Education Scholarship- open to Eastern High School students who are pursuing degrees through a two year vocational program- contact the Eastern Guidance Counselor

Bill Aydelotte Memorial Scholarship Fund: To provide scholarships for graduates of  Union High School, contact the Union High School counselor or Dugger Library.  This scholarship has a later submission date.

Clarence Stegemoller Memorial Scholarship Fund: To provide scholarships for graduates of Union High School in Dugger, contact the  Union High School counselor or Dugger Library.  This scholarship has a later submission date.

Edna Coyner Memorial Scholarship: To provide scholarships to graduates of Union High School in Dugger, contact the Union High  School counselor or Dugger Library.  This scholarship has a later submission date.

Tonda Lawrence Memorial Scholarship:  to provide scholarships to graduates of Linton High School,  who will be attending Indiana University,  OR enrolling in a Pharmacy program at any Indiana college or university.  See Linton Guidance Counselor for applications.


Other area scholarships (not held by the Greene County Foundation) – contact the organization directly

Delta NU Chapter-Worthington Trip Kappa Scholarship- for WRV students – contact  WRV Guidance Department

Indiana Sheriff’s Association Scholarship -for full time students who plan to major in a law enforcement field.  contact local Sheriff’s department for more info or indianasheriff’

Veterans’ Memorial Scholarship -  $1000 scholarship open to any Greene County senior who submits a written essay. Pick up Applications may be obtained from the Greene County Veterans’ Affairs Office located at  217 E. Spring Street, Suite #4, Bloomfield (in the Courthouse annex) or call 812-384-2031 and one can be emailed to you. deadlines vary contact the Veteran’s office for  more information.

James F. Jackson Scholarship – open to students from Sullivan, Greene, Knox, and Vigo counties in Indiana and Crawford County, Illinois. The committee will be guided by the donor’s desire for the pursuit of scientific and mathematical educaitonal attainment. Those who excel in chemistry, mathematics, physics, biology, engineering, languages, or social studies should apply. Call the Wabash Valley Community Foundation at 812-232-2234 for more information, or visit their website at

Workforce Acceleration Grant – designed to help Hoosiers pay for education and training to prepare for 21st Century jobs. Eligibility requirements: must be 18 years of age, have legal right to work in U.S., and are pursuing an Associate Degree of post-secondary certificate that leads to a high wage or high-demand occupation. Also must qualify as low-income and unemployed worker. For more information contact your local WorkOne Center.

John P. and Linda A. Beeson ITCC/IUSCS Scholarship – any student with an associate degree from Ivy Tech Community College and a cumulative GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, who intends on enrolling in the Indiana University School of Continuing Studies (SCS) to earn a Bachelor’s Degree in General Studies.

Peoples Foundation Trust Scholarship - for students attending an Indiana college majoring in Nursing (BSN, RN, or LPN), Dietetics, or Industrial Arts/Technology Education. Please note this scholarship cannot be used for room and board. Contact the Johnson County Community Foundation at (317) 738-2213 for more information.

John and Carol Myers Scholarship Fund – for students residing in Benton, Boone, Brown, Clay, Clinton, Davies, Fountain, Greene, Hendricks, Martin, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Tippecanoe, Vermillion, Vigo, and Warren counties of Indiana. Student is eligible if they have completed no less than one year of post secondary education and are considered at least a second year student by the student’s chosen institution of higher education wtih a minimum GPA of 3.0, is attending an accredited Indiana institution of higher education, and has volunteered during the political campaign of a Republican candidate, worked for the Republican party, or for an affiliated organization. Contact the Wabash Valley Community Foundation for more information.

Gamma Tau Chapter of Tri Kappa, Inc - $500 and $700 awards for seniors at Linton-Stockton High School woh demonstrate strong citizenship and leadership abilities. Must provide letter of acceptance from an accredited college/vocational school. For more infomation contact Beth Gillan (812) 847-2010

Scholarships for Purdue University

The Owen County Community Foundation is pleased to announce that applications are available for the James Root Scholarship.  Residents of Greene, Lawrence, Monroe, and Owen County, Indiana are eligible if they will be attending a Christian based college or seminary to pursue a career in Christian ministry or to gain a Christian perspective for any career of their choosing.  Contact Marilyn Hart,  Owen County Foundation  812-829-1725  or


Check out scholarships offered through high schools in Greene County:

Shakamak High School

Eastern Greene High School

Linton Stockton High School

Bloomfield High School

White River Valley

Remember to check in with your guidance counselor and to check our website and facebook page for scholarship updates!

A Generous Hand.
A Growing Future.
Executive Web Hosting